#3 – The Healthy Weight, Part 1

14 May

Let’s get this one out of the way now.  It’s the most boring and yet, the hardest one on the list.  But honestly, the one people want to hear about least. 

I’m chubby, fat, pleasantly plump.  Whatever.  Mostly, I’ve been okay with this.  Sure, I bitch about not finding cute clothes that fit, I sigh when I look in the mirror and I stare enviously at the slender and small.  But I like food, I like my life and my life (and the people in it) seem to like me back.   So why change a thing? 

Babies and doctors, that’s why.  In attempt to finally get my health issues dealt with (see upcoming post on an equally boring list item, # 6 – Address my health concerns) I found a new OB-GYN and went for a consult.  He basically told me I was fat, nearly diabetic and going to croak by 48.  I was shocked.  I truly, don’t think that I’m that overweight.  Well, not life-threateningly obese, anyhoodle.  Again, I’m chubby, not the 400 lb woman. 

I was so angry at this man, this doctor who’s wife, also an OB-GYN, is just as pudgy as me.  How dare he say that to me?  And not offer assistance?  Guidance?  (Which he didn’t, by the way.)  Regardless, I decided to take him seriously.  He told me that if I could just lose 10% of me, I’d be so much healthier.  So I am.  And I’m going to lose more than that. 

How?  Currently, The Alternate Day Diet.  I’m on week two.  Essentially, on your ‘down’ days, you eat 20% of your resting metabolic rate.  For me, between 400-500 calories.  On your ‘up’ days?  You can eat what you want, and not count calories.  I like it, so far.  And I’ve been pretty successful so far.  I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

