The LadyBlog

25 Jan

So there’s this rather popular blog aimed at women that is a part of a pretty famous media empire. Perhaps you know of it. Perhaps you are a regular reader. Perhaps you are a regular commenter, a starred one, even. I’m all of those, and have been for years.

When I was just a young LadyBlog virgin, it was a daily source of knowledge, enjoyment, enlightenment. The commenters were smart, wickedly sharped tongued and I was scared to death of them.  Scared of looking like an idiot, scared I was never EVER going to be as clever and well-informed.  The LadyBlog taught me things, things about the world, things about myself.  Made me unafraid of feminism, made me respect the power of women.

And so the days passed, reading every day, finally commenting, enduring and participating in countless memes (leg hugs, anyone?), shitstorms that raged and petered out, new beloved commenters, old favorites who bounced in fits of dissatisfaction, redesigns, new features, new editors, star-cullings.   New, unaffiliated-but affiliated websites (Harpyness, anyone?), the great Tumblr revolution, and finally, that great sign you’ve finally made it, the critical, shit-talking counter-blogs (STFUladyblog, anyone?).

And now?  I’m just fucking tired.  I feel like I’ve read it all.  I feel like I’ve been stuck in the same sorority house for years with a bunch of bitches I used to love, but we’ve lived together for so long that not only have I heard all of their good stories twice, but I’ve had to deal with one too many drunken nights on the bathroom floor.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll keep reading.  This isn’t a public Super-Bounce, but I’m tired.  I’m a little sad that LadyBlog has gotten to this place, that the commenters went from awesome to just regular girls, that our favorite Librarian-Moderator is gone and that Doll-Editor continues to post about fashion.  I miss News at 10, I miss witty SJs.   I’m sad that what is popular, what makes LadyBlog successful, has to play to the lowest common denominator.

 

Leave a Reply

